Qualified Teams


Berth Team Photograph
Defending Champion Team Bottcher
Representing: Saville Centre
Skip: Brendan Bottcher
T: Darren Moulding
S: Brad Thiessen
L: Karrick Martin
Sponsors: Goldline Curling, Driving Force
CTRS Leader Team Sluchinski
Representing: Airdrie Curling Club
Skip: Aaron Sluchinski
T: Dean Mamer
S: Justin Sluchinski
L: Dylan Webster
5th: Cory Nelson
Coach: David Sluchinski
Sponsors: Nelson Bros. Oilfield Services, Strike Group LP, Asham Curling Supplies
AB Tour I Team Sturmay
Representing: Saville Centre
Skip: Karsten Sturmay
T: Tristen Steinke
S: Jason Ginter
L: Brett Winfield
Coach: Rob Krepps
Sponsors: University of Alberta, Golden Bears Curling, Balmoral Curling Club Society, Goldline
AB Tour II Team Appelman
Representing: Spruce Grove Curling Club
Skip: Ted Appelman
T: Nathan Connolly
S: Shawn Donnelly
L: Adam Enright
Sponsors: Copperline Excavating, ENTREC, Forbes Bros, TC Infrastructure
NACA A Team Usselman
Representing: Saville Centre
Skip: Thomas Usselman
T: Aaron Sarafinchan
S: Morgan Van Doesburg
L: Tyler Pfeiffer
5th/Coach: Colin Davison
Sponsors: Challand Pipelines, Curler’s Corner, First Foundation Financial, shaniseenterprises.com
NACA B Team Thomas
Representing: Crestwood Curling Club
Skip: Charley Thomas
T: Mick Lizmore
S: Brandon Klassen
L: DJ Kidby
5th: Don Bartlett
Sponsors: Hardline
NACA C Team Hutchings
Representing: Morinville Curling Club
Skip: Mike Hutchings
T: Roland Robinson
S: Brian McPherson
L: Travis Cooper
5th: Kevin Tym
Sponsors:  Boreal Laser, Telsco Security System, Morinville Curling Club
SACA A Team Garnett
Representing: Calgary Curling Club
Skip: Scott Garnett
T: Tyler Lautner
S: Craig Bourgonje
L: Matthew McDonald
Coach: Jim Lautner
Sponsors: Rohit Communities, Priddis Greens, High River Toyota, Medi-Messaging
SACA B Team Harty
Representing: Glencoe Club
Skip: Jeremy Harty
T: Kyler Kleibrink
S: Joel Berger
L: Gregg Hamilton
Sponsors: World Financial Group, Glenmore Overhead Door Services
SACA C Team Park
Representing: Calgary Curling Club
Skip: Kevin Park
T: Shane Park
S: Robert Collins
L: Ben Savage
5th: Tony Germsheid
Coach: James Park
Sponsors: Sub-Zero & Wolf Appliances, Keller Engineering, Calgary Curling Club
PCA A Team Webb
Representing: Peace River Curling Club
Skip: Scott Webb
T: Alex Wolfe
S: Stephen Byrne
L: Damien Gnass
Coach: Allen Wolfe
Sponsors: YL Country / KIXX 106
PCA B Team Vavrek
Representing: Sexsmith Curling Club
Skip: Daylan Vavrek
T: Carter Lautner
S: Rob Maksymetz
L: Evan Asmussen
Sponsors: Precision Services Ltd., Big North Graphics, Investors Group

How do teams qualify?

The Defending Champions will receive a berth.

If for any reasons the defending champions do not qualify or wish to participate this berth will be awarded to the highest ranked team from the previous year CTRS standings that meets the residency criteria. (This would also apply in the event the defending champion becomes Team Canada). It is understood that if the highest ranked team chooses to not participate that this spot will be awarded to the next highest ranked team. (Teams must retain 3 of 4 members – substitutions as per ACF policy will be granted)

The Highest Ranked Team from overall CTRS standings (to Dec. 1 of current year)

Teams must retain 4 of 4 members as registered with the CTRS for Provincial Championship – substitutions as per ACF policy will be granted)

The First and Second Ranked Teams from CTRS bonspiels and competitions that occur within ACF boundaries.

Bonspiel or competition must be approved by the ACF in order to be included in overall totals.

Points will be awarded for bonspiels that occur in the same time frame one week after the Provincial Championship of the previous year through to and including December 1. (e.g. For the 2018 berths, points will be accumulated from February 15, 2017 through to December 1 of 2017.)

In the event that teams disband or change lineups during the point accumulation time-frame they will be allowed to gather points from the time of change with the new team. (Teams must retain 4 of 4 members as registered with the CTRS for the Provincial Championship – substitutions as per ACF policy will be granted)